European Politicians Demand Reform for the Freedom of Expression in Cuba



Just as it is possible to unite the voices of artists and journalists, from the European Parliament, politicians from a broad political spectrum have created a united demand for immediate reform an increased commitment for the freedom of expression in Cuba, directing themselves towards Federica Mogherini, the High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy in the European Union.

A broad group of European representatives has proclaimed a definite and unequivocal backing of the freedom of expression in Cuba. Their declaration comes after a round of recent discussions between the Caribbean nation and the European Union, which have been moderated by the High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy in the European Union.

In response, Mogherini has declared that Human Rights occupy a privileged place on the agenda of meetings with Cuba. The representatives have asserted that it is important to obtain "a more effective reaction rather than an epistolary exchange" as it is undeniable that repression on the island has not decreased, as is decried by many human rights groups.

Finally, the group of signatories urge the High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy in the European Union not to forget the artists and activists in Cuba that are fighting for freedom of expression, such as Tania Bruguera and Danilo Maldonado (El Sexto), among others, and urge her to insist that the Cuban Government drop all charges that the regime has accused them of, and to demand their liberation.

Read the **CORRESPONDENCE** in the following links:

- From MEPs to High Representative (24th April 2015, Brussels) http://ow.ly/OKyG2
- Response High Representative (26th May, 2015, Brussels) http://ow.ly/OKzwK
- Response to High Representative from MEPs (12th June, Brussels) http://ow.ly/OKA6u

Included among the SIGNATORIES are:

Fernando MAURA BARANDIARÁN

Pavel TELICKA

Guy VERHOFSTADT

Sophie IN 'T VELD

Tomas ZDECHOVSKY

Dita CHARANZOVÁ

Javier NART

Beatriz BECERRA

Enrique CALVET CHAMBON

Maite PAGAZAURTUNDÚA

Tunne KELAM

Juan Carlos GIRAUTA VIDAL

Marietje SCHAAKE

Petras AUSTREVICIUS

Izaskun BILBAO BARANDICA

Gérard DEPREZ

Ilhan KYUCHYUK

Joselnacio FARIA

Krystyna LYBACKA

Ana Maria GOMES

Nedzhmi ALI

Martina DLABAJOVÁ

Cecilia WIKSTRÖM

Petr JEŽEK

Alexander LAMBSDORFF

Marian HARKIN

Jozo RADOS

Philippe DE BACKER

Yana TOOM

Julie WARD

Georgios EPITIDEIOS

Matthijs VAN MILTENBURG

Urmas PAET

Jean ARTHUIS

Hans VAN BAALEN

António MARINHO E PINTO

Gesine MEISSNER

FURTHERINFORMATION:

- See FanPage #YoTambienExijo: www.facebook.com/YoTambienExijo
- See Open Letter at Blog http://www.taniabruguera.com/cms/711-0-2014+overview.htm
- Twitter: @yotambienexijo
- Press Contact: Email: exige@yotambienexijo.org